PDA

View Full Version : Comments on using Target Coatings USL

Matt Tawes
03-25-2006, 10:56 AM
I wanted to take a moment to pass along my comments on using USL (Oxford Ultima Spray Lacquer) for the first time. I build furniture and cabinetry for a living and finally decided that to speed production and finishing time I just had to start spray finishing.
I just purchased a Fuji Q4 and after reading reviews and comments about USL on some woodworking forums including SMC I ordered a gallon to give it a try. I have little experience spraying finishes of any sort but let me say that USL is as simple as it gets. Before loading the gun I measured the viscosity right out of the can and it required aboslutely no thinning (or so it seemed). Short of fine tuning the adjustments on the gun there is no trick to spraying USL. This stuff has little to no odor, really needs no thinning at least when using a Q4, and dries incredibly fast. Thus far I've only shot some on a test panel with 3 coats and it provided a beautiful and durable finish after three coats (2 probably would have sufficed). I even got a little heavy on a coat which resulted in orange peal texture but this stuff leveled right out when dry.
Best of all, being a water-based finish it cleans up easily and is safe to spray inside without a spray booth. I only have the choice of spraying in my shop with just a filter equipped fan to reduce airborne mist and it worked out fine. USL atomizes into fine dust when it settles and is no different than sanding dust to wipe off or vacuum up the surrounding area.
As I said I have little experience with spray finishing much less with other products but I cannot see how any other water based spray laquer could give any better results that Target's USL product. I'm sure everyone else has their favorites but Target USL is very inexpensive even with shipping compared to other products and I'm quite satisfied so far with the reuslts.

Jim Becker
03-25-2006, 11:55 AM