PDA

View Full Version : Here's a chance to improve on your investments...........

Ken Fitzgerald
03-23-2006, 10:48 PM
I want to turn some wet cherry sent to me by John Hart. I've got 4 4"x33" pieces of sealed cherry. Looks like some nice wood to me.

I figure I can get about 5 chances of a good goblet out of each piece.

That means I have about 20 opportunities to get one goblet that will be worth entering into the Hart-Fitzgerald Old Geezers and Others SMC Goblet Extravaganza Challenge...............

Some new firsts for me in this upcoming event....

1. First time mounting and using my chuck..........should I clean the gunk off it with MS?

2. First time to use a bowl gouge..........After I break the news of the purchase to the LOML..........

3. First time to use a scraper..................After I break the news of the purchases to the LOML...........

We need some rules for this event.

I have some experience turning wet wood. Andy's bonker was turned wet and it subsequently warped after drying a while so..........I've got to find a way to dry this stuff so the goblet will appear to be functional and maintain a recognizeable form.........Of course that would mean I lose my only excuse for poor craftsmanship!

Help me answer some of these numerous questions and fill in the voids of my knowledge base! And of course in the meantime you'll be increasing the return on your recent investments!

Don Baer
03-23-2006, 11:10 PM
Come on Ken... can't you figure it out. It's a contest. Since you started this mess I think youd be cheating to get outside help...:D

Cecil Arnold
03-23-2006, 11:35 PM
What Don said, but there's all kinds of information on turning wet wood right here on the creek--seek and you will find.

Dennis Peacock
03-23-2006, 11:41 PM
The biggest deal about turning wet wood? Ya gotta grin REAL BIG while turning it!!!! Those big wet curls are FUN!!!!!

Stephen Hibbs
03-23-2006, 11:45 PM