PDA

View Full Version : The Legal World Sure is funny.....

Dennis Peacock
03-22-2006, 10:07 PM
I've been involved in a legal action concerning an ex-employee of another company. I had to have my deposition taken and now, I got this 244 page transcript I have to review and correct in just 29 days!!!!! Don't they know that I KNOW what I said? Even spent 1-1/2 hours going over my college education and past work. Once I mentioned that I was an ex-expolosives expert, the lawyer "quickly" moved on.!!! :rolleyes: :D

One wants to prove your testimony is good and valid and the other wants to prove you're an idiot and haven't a clue what you are talking about. Sheesh!!!!

Tony Sade
03-22-2006, 10:38 PM
Dennis:

I sure can't comment on the underlying litigation or what took place in your deposition, but trust me (says the lawyer :D) you want to double check what the court reporter produced. In my experience the quality of the reporter and the resulting transcription can be all over the map. Some transcripts come out darn near perfect others have up to several errors on every page. The situation is made worse by the use of voice recognition software that doesn't do a very good job of recognizing most of the English language. I often find myself laughing (and then crying because of the work involved in correcting a transcript) at some of the things I'm alleged to have said. The things are usually double spaced-it shouldn't take you too long to go through it. Enjoy!

Curt Fuller
03-22-2006, 11:21 PM
All I know about the law is what I've learned from reading John Grisham books. But from that, watch out for suspicous looking vans parked outside your house, beautiful women that seem attracted to you for no reason, and piles of $100 dollar bills with rubber bands around them.:D

Ken Fitzgerald
03-22-2006, 11:40 PM
Whew Curt! I've got no worries!:o :D

Frank Chaffee
03-22-2006, 11:51 PM
Dennis,
After you proof read your deposition for them, submit a bill for your services.
Frank