PDA

View Full Version : Euro talk, next chapter... J/P's

Paul B. Cresti
03-22-2006, 12:19 AM
Well Ok fine folks on to my next long winded chapter in a series of Euro-Talk...the self inflicted series by you know who...me, the unofficial spokesman for myself :)

It seems like a lot of people have been asking about combo's lately and while I have no direct experience with a full 5 in 1 combo I do have a MiniMax FS41 16" joiner/planer with the horizontal mortising attachment. So in theory it is a 3 in 1 machine.

Here are the particulars for my machine (others many vary): It has a 6.6hp 3ph motor, 79" long joiner bed, a 16" joiner and of course a 16" planer with two feed speeds. It use a Tersa cutter head and in my case I purchased the Euro guard for the joiner and added the horizontal mortising attachment which mounts on the back of the machine. This feature I do believe is the only J/P that has the mortiser on the back, as it allows you to leave the mortiser on all the time which is very nice because it is solid cast iron and very heavy. Please note as you will see I created my own additional auxillary mortiser table which creates a larger surface area, an easier & more flexible clamping system and a very simple indexing system for locating mortises.

First five pictures here show the FS41 in jointing mode and then in planing mode.

continued in next post.....

Paul B. Cresti
03-22-2006, 12:36 AM
Next three pictures you will see the FS41 set up to complete horizontal mortising. For you whom do not know, a horizontal mortiser creates both mortises in style and rail where in turn you create a loose tenon to fit both mortises to join the parts together.

Now the mortising bit is attached to the back of the machine via a chuck on the "back side" of the cutter head.