PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Oaker Slinking In

Mike Robertson
03-21-2006, 12:19 PM
I was directed to the forum by my friend (and fellow ag instructor) Jim (Bonyfingers) Hager, and have been lurking around for a few weeks since the Oak went down. Seems like a number of friendly woodworkers on board here, so I took the plunge and registered. Lots of really great project pics from the members! I see that the registered optomistrist from the Oak has joined you, and ready to administer eye tests as they are required. ;)

I live near Springfield, Illinois, and most of my woodworking time is spent making scrapwood for the firebox, but every once in a while I get lucky and turn out a piece of funiture or two. I take on a couple of projects per year to supplement the pension. As I learn the ropes and ettiquite of the forum, I'll post a picture or two of some projects, but it's very slow with my dial-up internet connection.

I'm a former school teacher and retired from our state education agency three years and 21 days ago. I spend most of my days in the shop (except on days like today when I shovel snow) and do quite a bit of volunteer work.

So anyway, enough about me - Thanks for allowing me on board, and howdy again to all the old timers from the Oak.

Don Baer
03-21-2006, 12:22 PM
Mike,
Welcome to the creek and watch out for the picture police. The rule is, If theres no pictures it didn't happen,

Jim Becker
03-21-2006, 12:23 PM
Welcome aboard, Mike!

Josh Goldsmith
03-21-2006, 12:23 PM
WELCOME!!!! You will meet alot of nice people on this site along with alot of very good information.

tod evans
03-21-2006, 12:35 PM
welcome mike!

Steve Ash
03-21-2006, 12:39 PM
Mike, welcome to the warm waters of the creek.

Cecil Arnold
03-21-2006, 12:41 PM
Welcome to the creek Mike. The water's fine.

Royce Meritt
03-21-2006, 12:42 PM
Jump right in HEAD FIRST. The water here at the creek is nice and deep. (And warm, too.)

john whittaker
03-21-2006, 12:43 PM