PDA

View Full Version : AM radio on car

Dan Bundy
03-21-2006, 7:34 AM
The AM radio on my wife's Hyundai Santa Fe works fine with the engine off, but has terrible ignition noise when it's running. Wouldn't care, normally, but I'm attending a certain special golf tournament in East Georgia in a couple of weeks (stealth gloat) and they have an information channel on the AM side that might be helpful as we look for parking, etc.

Is there something I can get at Autozone or similar that will filter the noise and that someone who's not very auto mechanically inclined (or that my b-i-l, who is) can install? Or something else that might work? Thanks. DB

John Hart
03-21-2006, 7:50 AM
Yup Dan. There are noise suppression devices for a couple of bucks that you can install quite easily. In my younger days, I installed car stereos for a living, and the choice was a noise suppressor or new fancy schmancy spark plug wires.....sometimes both. You just install the suppressor in-line with the power wire of the radio.

Larry Klaaren
03-21-2006, 8:44 AM
What he said. I had that in a service vehicle once after I installed a two-way radio. The noise suppressor worked great. I think the guy who installed the radio called it an ignition filter, but that might have been his own term.

Or, buy her a Lexus.

Larry

Jerry Clark
03-21-2006, 10:11 AM
Also you may want to check the antenna-- sometimes that will cause ign noise in the radio. :cool:

Ken Garlock
03-21-2006, 10:35 AM
Yet another guess;) . You need to check that the metal chassis of the radio is properly grounded to the frame of the car. I have the same problem on my wife's LeSabre after the mechanic replaced the 'puter up under the dash. If was months after the repair that I found the ignition noise, but since we don't listen to AM, I never pursued a fix.:(