PDA

View Full Version : Tool Rest Cuts

Christopher K. Hartley
03-20-2006, 7:27 PM
Ok everyone I need help. What am I doing wrong? I have been discovering that I have been getting cuts in the metal of my tool rest. When I am going for a fluid motion of my cutting tool across the rest it sometimes hangs on the cut. I have filed them out but it is like the iron of the rest is soft and I continue to get them. I know it's a new guy problem...right?

Ken Fitzgerald
03-20-2006, 7:32 PM
Chris..........as you are probably aware...I'm new to turning too! I suspect as we better develop our turning skills, the number of catches we experience will reduce and so will the number of Dings in the tool rest! :o That's just speculation on my part ....at this time!:D

Stephen Hibbs
03-20-2006, 7:41 PM
I haven't had this problem, nor am I experienced, but I imagine if you avoid keeping the tool in the same spot for long that won't happen. Just keep the tool moving around, you get fewer catches that way, I have found.

Gary Max
03-20-2006, 7:55 PM
The steel is soft---I just take mine and regind/clean-up the edge every once and a while.
Plus if you are new to turning---as you get more time under your belt you will do this less.
I like some of the aftermarket rest of there---they seen to work real smooth.

Bob Noles
03-20-2006, 8:02 PM
Chris,

I solved my problem by replacing the soft metal tool rest that came with my lathe.

Here is where I got the replacement http://monster-wood-tool.com/wst_page5.php Randy is a wonderful guy to work with. I have yet to put a ding in this replacement :D

Jim Ketron
03-20-2006, 8:08 PM
Don't know exactly what tools you are using to do this? But here is a little tip. If you will slightly round over the sharp corners on your skews and parting tool shafts, or any other tools with sharp edges, it will make your tool rest have less dents and rough spots.;)

Keith Christopher
03-20-2006, 8:11 PM
I completely agree with Jim, rounding my tools worked wonders.