PDA

View Full Version : Finished Project: Print Stand

Ron Robinson
03-20-2006, 6:10 PM
I just finished this project and it contained two firsts for me. Figured wood and mortise and tenons.

As a relative newbie I like to pick projects that add to my repetoire of techniques, and this one fit the bill on two counts.

I am also learning, by doing and by reading the advice in this fine group, that a project starts with wood selection. Also, that no matter how well you cut and assemble, if you don't scrape and/or sand well enough, the project won't look good.

So, take a look please. Constructive (but gentle) criticism is always welcome.

Ron Robinson

Tom Pritchard
03-20-2006, 6:30 PM
I just finished this project and it contained two firsts for me. Figured wood and mortise and tenons.

As a relative newbie I like to pick projects that add to my repetoire of techniques, and this one fit the bill on two counts.

I am also learning, by doing and by reading the advice in this fine group, that a project starts with wood selection. Also, that no matter how well you cut and assemble, if you don't scrape and/or sand well enough, the project won't look good.

So, take a look please. Constructive (but gentle) criticism is always welcome.

Ron Robinson

Ron, the fit and finish of your stand is beautiful. I like the way that the Shaker style spindles look. I guess I have to ask an embarrasing question though, just what exactly does a print stand hold? I'm familiar with blueprints, but then I thought that it was for holding picture prints.

In any case, I like the way it looks!

Mike Cutler
03-20-2006, 6:54 PM
Ron.

I admit, that I have no idea what a print stand is, but I really like that one.
The wood is gorgeous, and all of the joints look well done.

What technique(s) did you use for the M&T joints? What worked well? what didn't work so well?