PDA

View Full Version : Need Table Saw Advice

Darren Vass
03-13-2006, 7:05 AM
I'm new to machine woodworking. Have been doing many odds and ends around the house over the the years including some poorly built furniture and speakers. As I've said in previous posts, I'm starting up my workshop in my basement and was able to use my table saw last night to cut some thin strips of wood for molding around a door.

I only have a cheap $170 Sears table saw. I did not know better at the time of purchase. I noticed that even with a 60 toothed carbide blade from Menards, there were saw marks on the piece. I used the gripper to advance the piece. These were 4 foot strips and were rip cuts into regular 2x4 pieces. My ruler showed that the blade was perpendicular to the table and square to the fence. I did need to stop the cut several times as I slipped the gripper backwards on the wood in order to push it further.

A person I met recently, who teaches shop, told me that the cuts on this direct drive Sears table saw will always be inaccurate. He recommended I make cuts 1/16 inch over and use the router or jointer to true up the edge. He also recommeded that I get the Grizzly G0444 saw instead. He said that this saw would cut true. I don't think I could sell the Sears saw. I'm not sure how I would get the 280# Grizzly down into my basement. Does it come apart to at least 100# pieces? Sigh!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Mike Cutler
03-13-2006, 7:34 AM
Darren.

The Grizzly saw that you refer to does break down. In fact it is shipped in a big box, and the fence may be shipped in another box.