PDA

View Full Version : My New Workshop Plans...First Cut.

Gary Stallings
03-10-2006, 11:40 AM
Well.........after reading lost of threads, looking at others designs, talking to friends and fellow woodworkers, and getting great input from others that are "swimming the creek" (now that I know what that means).......I've come up with some preliminary plans for my shop. I want those following this thread to know that I'm only in the first stages of figuring out what to build. I know I have plenty to learn and decide before digging the foundation but I'm working on it. Hopefully I'll be able to start later this summer. I haven't put these plans in a shop design program as of yet......these drawing are done in PP........the inside design should be close to scale...........the elevations are not......I drew them out quickly just to give you an idea of what I'm thinking at this point. Just looking for some others thoughts on this design. I am new to the creek but have found this to be a great forum for info. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

One question up front........three phase power??....I think I know what it is and what it does but do I need in in a shop like this??....It's not like I will have five or six people working all at the same time.....please educate the uneducated.

Steve Ash
03-10-2006, 11:53 AM
Gary, it looks nice. One thing I noticed that I would change is the infeed of your table saw. I'd move it a bit further up (or centered in door opening)so you can bring large stuff through the big doors for ripping. Looks like it could be a bit tight where you have it now. I put mine right smack dab in front of my overhead door just for that reason. Other than that small adjustment, looks real good. One thing you are doing that I wished I would have done is put in a washroom.

As far as 3 phase, you can buy some inexpensive great used tools that are 3 phase for little money.....just my 2 cents. And good luck with your upcoming shop.

Charlie Mastro