PDA

View Full Version : setting up a new Unisaw

Mark Pruitt
03-09-2006, 8:02 PM
Hi,
I'm new to the Creek. After some 12-13 years or so of using a contractor saw (a Grizzly which still runs great) I took the plunge and bought a Delta Unisaw--something I had dreamed about for a long time. I'm now setting it up and have run into something that has me scratching my head a bit.

I have the long rails (Biesemeyer fence) and auxillary extension table. The rails are correctly installed and when I go to set the aux. table in place the fit is so tight that I have to literally force the aux. table into position against the saw table. When I do this, I can see that the pressure is pushing out against the rails. Those of you who have purchased a Unisaw like mine, did you run into this issue during setup? Or did the auxillary table slide easily into place between the rails?

My thought at this point is to use my belt sander and take off some of the front and/or back edges of the aux. table's frame. It doesn't seem to require a lot of stock removal; in fact, there is almost no discernable difference when I measure the distance between the rails as compared to the width of the aux. table (front to back). The last thing I feel like doing at this point is sending the aux. table back--first, I don't feel like waiting, second, a replacement will quite possibly have the same issue. I mainly wanted to see if anyone else has bumped up against this situation and if so, what you did about it.

Mark

Bruce Page
03-09-2006, 8:12 PM
Mark, welcome to the Creek.
My table was pretty snug between the rails but not excessively so. A year or two later I replaced it with a Woodhaven table that fit like a glove. Unless you have to really force the tubes apart, I wouldn't worry about it.

Jamie Buxton
03-09-2006, 8:12 PM