PDA

View Full Version : There are worms in my wood!

Richard Holub
03-09-2006, 7:17 AM
I just finished planing approximately 100 bf of red oak down to 1" thickness and in the process I noticed several small worm holes here and there. I mannaged to squash a few of the buggers but I am worried that some might still be in the wood. Anyone have any ideas how to make sure the worms are not going to be active in my finished project.:rolleyes:

Richard Holub
03-09-2006, 7:24 AM
This might sound like a stupid question:o but I'm new at this kind of business (hobbie). I have approximately 500 bf of red oak that I want to use to build a built-in desk. A lot of the boards were 1-1/4"+ in thickness and I was able to plane them down to 1" thickness. Is there any reason why I could not use this 1" thick lumber for my desk project? All the plans I have seen call for very few parts made out of 1" material, the rest is mostly 3/4". I could save lots of time in the planing process by keeping the boards at 1". Plus there would be more structural strength. Any reason why this might be a bad idea?

Joe Pelonio
03-09-2006, 8:01 AM
Anyone have any ideas how to make sure the worms are not going to be active in my finished project.:rolleyes:
I'd have to say no, I don't. Years ago I a woman brought me a beautiful piece of olive burl, and asked me to make it into a wall clock. Same as you, sanding it I saw worm holes and spotted/killed one. I had no clue how to kill them and called to tell her so, she said not to worry about it. So I finished it and after dry, before she had picked it up, there was a little pile of sawdust and new exit hole, so the clear finish doesn't stop them.
Turned out she liked it that way, thought it added character.

Jim Hager
03-09-2006, 8:31 AM