PDA

View Full Version : OT Digital Cameras

Robert Mickley
03-07-2006, 6:13 PM
Ok I'm a man on a mission. I've decided that once and for all I'm going to own a decent to good Digital Camera. Any of you guys ever used or own the Nikon D50. I had one in my hands at the local camera shop the other day, has a pretty nice feel to it. I'm just looking to see if anyone has first hand experiance with it

Chuck Wintle
03-08-2006, 6:48 AM
there are some websites that do a lot of testing on digital cameras. One comes to mind that has many tests on line.

Dan Bundy
03-08-2006, 7:29 AM
Check out dpreview.com -- they have very thorough reviews (the review for my Canon Digital Rebel was more thorough and helpful than the manual that came with the camera). Another site is Steve's digicams. Don't know the addy but Google should help. Good luck. DB

Tim Morton
03-08-2006, 8:09 AM
I have lots of experience with the D70, and I think you will be very happy with the d50. I wuld get the extended warantee on this one...especially if you use any external powered flash units. its VERY easy to blow a circuit board on any digital camera. DAMHIKT:mad:

Larry Browning
03-08-2006, 8:14 AM
What about the D50 makes you think it is the camera for you? I have recently gone through finding a new digital camera and decided on the Panasonic DMC-FZ30. It is not a true SLR but looks like one. It pretty much has all the features of a SLR but is not quite as pricey. I think if you are not a professional photographer that needs to changes lenses all the time the Panasonic may be a better option. It was for me.
However, whatever camera you choose, and you are ordering it online, be sure to get the USA model. Some places offer the same camera at a much lower price, but with a VERY limited warrenty, weak battery, etc.. These are called "gray market" products and should be avoided like the plague.

Dave Richards
03-08-2006, 8:54 AM