PDA

View Full Version : Outdoor Morris Chair

Ken DeMarco
08-02-2003, 9:53 PM
Hello all,
Well here is my first attempt at something that resembles furniture, It is an outdoor Morris Chair from plans published in Wood magazine a few issues ago, The plan called for pine, but since I had just gotten a lot of white oak real cheap I used that instead, then I could not stand to paint it so I put on 3 coats of exterior oil polyurethane. Now that it is finished my wife would not let me put it outside so it is now in the living room awaiting cushions. This is my first attempt also at posting a picture, I hope the file is not to big
Thanks
Ken

Jim Young
08-02-2003, 10:35 PM
That looks great Ken. Your wife couldn't be giving you a better compliment by keeping it inside.

Ken Garlock
08-02-2003, 10:48 PM
Keep it inside, its too nice for the Ohio elements to attack. Looks like a good chair for reading the paper or watchng TV.

Very nice work....

Bob Lasley
08-02-2003, 11:17 PM
Ken,

By all means, don't let this be your last attempt at something that resembles furniture, because that beautiful chair reallllllly resembles furniture. You did a great job. I wouldn't put it outside either!

Bob

Todd Burch
08-02-2003, 11:24 PM
Keep the chair inside. Put the cat out.

Todd.

Kevin Gerstenecker
08-02-2003, 11:53 PM
Not to be a traitor Ken, but I have to agree with the Mrs. on this one! That chair is WAY TOO NICE to be put outside! Great work, and it looks great in Oak. I have a feeling if you put it outside, sooner or later the Chair will end up INSIDE and YOU will be OUTSIDE! :D Great work, and I have to say that your chair looks WAY better than the one in Wood Mag. VERY nice work, and kudos for resisting the urge to paint it. Thanks for sharing the pictures with us..........I would say you are on the right track! ;)

Bruce Page
08-03-2003, 12:24 AM