PDA

View Full Version : A Veneer Question

Jon Farley
02-27-2006, 11:05 AM
<!--StartFragment -->
I recently posted a question on Sawmill Creek about wood movement on a church altar I am going to build (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=31941 (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=31941)). I received several suggestions that I consider doing a veneered top to avoid wood movement issues that could wreck the mitered edge molding. This really got me thinking that veneer might be the way to go. The problem is that I have no veneering experience, though I've been reading up on it on the web as much as possible over the last couple days.

If you look at picture (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=32723&d=1140908245) of the present altar, you can see that the table top sits slightly proud of the molding that surrounds it. So, my question is this: Can I make my own edge-glued veneer about 1/8" or 3/16" thick and then glue it to MDF...then after cutting this top to its final size (it will be an octagon shape), attach all the mitered molding pieces, letting about 1/16" of the veneer sit proud of the molding, just like the old altar?

Am I on the right track? Am I missing something? Is this a workable solution when it comes to the table top wood movement/mitered molding problem?

john lawson
02-27-2006, 11:28 AM
John:

I would edge band the MDF first with a hardwood, say 1" wide, to match the veneer. The apply the veneer. Last, I would use a roundover bit to relieve the top, as your picture shows.

Attached is a top I did last year.

john lawson

Bob Swenson
02-27-2006, 11:30 AM
Yes- but make sure that you veneer the back of th MDF too.

tod evans
02-27-2006, 12:23 PM
jon, resawing your own veneer is a good idea for a first go-round, especially if you use 1/8-3/16. i like baltic birch better than mdf, but mdf will work. be sure to edge band with solid stock as john suggested and also veneer the back as bob suggested...02 tod

Jon Farley