PDA

View Full Version : learning to engrave

Paul Frost
02-26-2006, 10:43 PM
Hey yall
I'm new to engraving, well I'm not even new yet, I,m thinking I might be able to make some kind of laser engraving / cutting name tags, plaques, switch labels. I been printing passed 28 years prepress and made switch to digital prepress. Woodworker on side furniture, cabinets and such. I'm looking @ a Pinacle-M 40 to see if I can make some $s @ this. I was wondering what kind of learning curve there is for some one like me I know adobe products, photoshop, Illusrator very well but corel is not used for printing around here. say chattanooga,TN. any comments welcome

Scott Brown
02-26-2006, 10:58 PM
Paul, I was a total newbie when I started this, I didnt have the knowledge of even the software that you do, But in a short time I was engraving. I think that most people use the software that you have, Photoshop, is what I useto edit my photos, and I am not 100% but I think that Illustrator will work with your laser when you get it, if not the switch to corel draw will not be a hard one, this forum is a graet place to find info.

Scott

Lee DeRaud
02-27-2006, 12:24 AM
You might want to read this thread:
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=30915

Paul Frost
02-27-2006, 12:25 AM
How long Scott and do make $ @ it FT or PT

Scott Brown
02-27-2006, 1:07 AM
Since June of 2005, I do it part time. I have a full time job that travels me. I have found that if I make time, I make money, I do photos on diferent materials, but I get alot of my business from businesses, doing nameplates, and signs. Established businesses, hire and fire all the time, and they need new nameplates. I am not making a killing by any means, but I make enough to pay my overhead, someday I hope to do this fulltime.

Ken Frisby
02-27-2006, 6:00 PM
How long Scott and do make $ @ it FT or PT