PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Brian King
02-26-2006, 2:15 PM
Hello,
I've been reading this forum for a while now and I thought it's time introduce myself. My name is Brian King, I am married with 3 children ages 3, 8, and 9. I work as a manufacturing engineer at a small local converting knife company. I am a journeyman toolmaker with 22 years experience in making molds, jigs & fixtures, and odd parts. I've used anything from large 77" VTL's (vertical turret lathes) to EDM's with 20 ton Kenworth hood molds on them to automated cnc's. I like cnc programming and setup, and machine design.
I like woodworking and tinkering with anything mechanical as long is it at the time of my choosing. I really like old woodworking machinery. I appreciate the quality of workmanship and materials that went into them. I have a collection of ww equipment. Rockwell shaper, Rockwell 18" wedgebed planer, Rockwell 8" jointer, 2 Rockwell uni's, 1 Powermatic 66,
2 Tannewitz U's, a Parks 16" bandsaw, a DoAll geared head drill press, a 2hp Hammond cyclone DC, an old 14" Delta wood and metal bandsaw, and a host of smaller tools. Some I'm going to keep some will stay. I'm in the process of putting together an efficient ww shop for me to be able to use in the evening and weekends. I'm posting a photo of my shop and the old Delta/Rockwell bandsaw (with cast iron base! & high and low gearbox, and a few other pieces just for fun. A couple of a 1961 Tannewitz Model U trunnion for comparison to the newer saw construction. (For those who have never seen one)
I like to buy, sell, trade, restore, and collect machinery and tools. I'm definately a toolnut.
I've enjoyed reading in this forum and have learned a few things along the way. I've also been peeved a few times, but I consider that normal when a person reads so many views about subjects of relative importance to oneself. Healthy and energetic discussion. Right?