PDA

View Full Version : Help justify my purchase

Nick Clayton
02-22-2006, 7:38 AM
I think I got a good deal, but because I'm new to the better side of woodworking I'm unsure. Yesterday I went and bought a nice plunge router from a gentleman that was selling his shop because he was moving to Florida. I noticed he had what looked like a cabinet saw with extension table for sale and inquired what he was selling it for. He asked $500, I suggested $400 and we had a deal. It turns out that it is a Delta 36-755 w/ 30" Unifence and Delta extension table 34-915. The saw appears to be in great shape and looks brand new. I'm headed over to pick it up after work today.
The saw it is replacing is a little wanker of a Delta bench to saw that worked well when I was making imperfect cuts in thin pine or cedar, but I thought this would be an unquestionable improvement. So my question to the omnipitous tool guru's is, did I get a fair saw for the money? I mean the best I could have done for that money new would have been a contractor’s saw on the low to mid end wouldn't it? Thanks for your input.

Cheers,
Nick

Chris Barton
02-22-2006, 7:48 AM
You got a good deal if the saw is in the condition you suggest. Breathe easy and enjoy!

Chris Fite
02-22-2006, 11:14 AM
I have had one of them for 15 years. It is a good saw and will perform well for you. You got an excellent price, in my mind.

Maurice Ungaro
02-22-2006, 12:14 PM
You got ripped off. Tell you what, so as you don't sting to much from the beating you took, I'll take that thing off your hands for $550. :D

William Lewis
02-22-2006, 12:24 PM
No pictures didn't happen. LOL That's what they say. On the other hand great invisible gloat.

William Lewis

Jim O'Dell
02-22-2006, 1:07 PM
That would be a ghost gloat!!! Jim.

Brian Parker
02-22-2006, 1:45 PM
Man why can't anyone around Pittsburgh ever be selling anything good like that. I got tool envy.

Lou Morrissette
02-22-2006, 2:18 PM
Nick,