PDA

View Full Version : Hot Water Circulation ?

Charles Hans
02-21-2006, 7:45 PM
I have been trying to gather information on the Auto circ 2 system made by the Laing company, made for circulating hot water to distant faucets, like the ones most distance from the water heater, say on the second floor bathrooms. They make some valid points about saving water and I am wondering if anyone here has insatlled this system and how it works for you. I don't want to blow $200.00 on something that does not work as advertised. If you have not heard of it here is a link to their website.
www.autocirc.com (http://www.autocirc.com/)

Bill Webber
02-21-2006, 9:16 PM
Hi Charles,

I have no experience with the unit... but that is no reason to prevent tossing out some random thoughts! :)

When I was a youngster, my dad had 'tourist cabins' in New Hampshire. There was a circular pipe than ran hot water to all the cabins and the pipe returned to the water heater. A 'circulator pump' was turned on in the morning to make certain the pipe was filled with hot water. This has nothing to do with what you are tring to do.. just goes to 'I understand your problem..

The circulation system you point to will certainly work. One draw back of the system is that if you get up in the middle of the night and want a cool drink, you will be getting warm-to-hot water out of your cold water faucet until you run it for awhile.

If the problem mentioned above is acceptable, and the bathrooms you are trying to speed hot water to is above the water heater, I would simply connect the hot water line to the cold water line (at the remote bathroom end) and see if the convection circulation alone would produce satisfactory results. I'm betting it would. Seems like such a good idea, I may try it myself. Tell me how it works out! :)

YMMV...:D

Norman Hitt
02-22-2006, 2:32 AM