PDA

View Full Version : Material for router/table saw fence

Richard Holub
02-21-2006, 9:45 AM
I am in the process of building two fences for my work table. The plans I have call for maple plywood as fence material. Since I have plenty of read oak available, I would like to know if it is stable enough material to use for a fence as opposed to the reomended plywood :rolleyes: .

Brian Parker
02-21-2006, 1:58 PM
I'm no expert but I would have to say that they recommend plywood because of the glued layers and less tendency to warp vs the same thinckness of a single piece of wood.

For my router table (Very similar to the one on the New Yankee Workshop) I got some 5/8" UMHF and made that the vertical face, its pretty slick, never needs waxing, don't warp (its screwed to 3/4 MDF behind it and it wont rust. I forget where I got mine at but I know the piece that I got was pretty cheap. I went on eBay and found people who sell it and just sent them a msg asking if they had anything in the dimensions that I needed and a few days later it was on my doorstep.

Saul Harris
02-22-2006, 10:24 AM
I am not familiar with the "UMHF" referred to but a good face material for a fence would be 3/4" UHMW (ultra-high molecular weight) plastic. It is slick, does not need any waxing or anything ever. I buy mine from Woodline in Nashville, TN (www.woodline.com (http://www.woodline.com) or www.woodbits.com (http://www.woodbits.com)). They have it in different sizes and their customer service will amaze you.

Richard Holub
02-22-2006, 11:26 AM
Saul, I already purchased UHMW sheeting but it is only about 1/16 " thick. I will laminate my red oak fence with this and hopefully it will keep moisture from seaping into the oak. I was planning on also coating the fence with polyurethane or the like.

Brian Parker
02-22-2006, 11:42 AM