Zahid Naqvi
02-20-2006, 3:10 PM
1. Name (and nick names)
Mark Singer

2. Age/DOB

3. Location (present and previous):
Laguna Beach , California

4. Tell us about your family
Married for 35 years...son: Ryan is an Architect, Daughter: Jessica is a fashion designer...Java is a Labrador he is the senior member of the Family at 14 1/2, Dexter is a Chihuahua...7 years old and 7 pounds

5. How do you earn a living, woodworking or other, any interesting previous occupations.
I am an Architect....Mark Singer Architects, Inc,...A General Partner in a restaurant Group....All "Opah" locations ..."Agave"..."230 Forest Ave". When I finished my degree I became a general contractor building homes and commercial buildings and I did all my finish work, stair building, door hanging and other trades.

6. Equipment overview (hand tools and other)
PM 66 table saw, Aggazani 20" band saw, Delta DJ20 jointer, Jet 15" Planer, General 24" drum sander, Delta drill press, Jet mortiser, jet combination sander, Jet spindle sander, Oneida cyclone, Jet 14" band saw, older and newer hand tools, Deifenbach Ultimate workbench.

7. Describe your shop
800 sf 12 ft ceiling 2 large overhead doors, skylights, Concrete floor. My table saw outfeed table is a 4x 8 bench...this is where most of my glue ups, assembly, sanding and finishing take place. My large workbench is where most of the joinery, planning, and shaping are done

8. Tell us about the hand planes you own, and your favorite one(s) to use
I have several older and newer planes, some were my fathers old Stanleys...newer ECE Primus, Lie Nielsen, Clifton, Knight, Veritas low angle trio, Veritas, Clifton, and Lie Neilsen shoulder planes....the ECE, Veritas and Knight planes are all favorites

9. You favorite chisels
I have many older ones that I like ...the Lie Neilsens are very good as well...the Nootigoten have excellent balance

10. Your favorite handsaw(s)