PDA

View Full Version : How sharp is sharp enough?

Jason McDonald
02-20-2006, 9:40 AM
I am new to turning and just got a nice set of Pinnacle HSS chisels (compared to my last ones at least). I have read up on a few different sites and books and there seems to be a huge rift in the turning world over the correct way to sharpen so I realize that I may get some conflicting answers here...

I have a craftsman wet/dry tool sharpener with what I estimate to be a 300 grit wheel ( I don't have it with me and can't find the exact one online ) as well as three diamond sharpeners: course, fine, & extra fine. For general sharpenings should I be using the grinding wheel then follow it up with the diamond honing stones or would just using the diamond honing stones suffice?

How sharp should the chisels be when I am done sharpening? I have seen some sites referencing being sharp enough to shave with... I have been turning pens lately and have split a bunch of blanks, presumably b/c my chisels are not sharp enough.

I know this is a broad set of questions - any help is appreciated.

Chris Barton
02-20-2006, 9:47 AM
This is almost a metaphysical question. But, I think the reply you might get from some of the turning sages would be; when wood comes off without tearing the grain, then its sharp enough. And, you will know when it isn't sharp enough because the wood will tear or simply not cut. Also, "sharp enough" willl vary from wood to wood. For soft woods like hackberry you need more "sharpness" than with say walnut and wet wood cuts easier than dry...

Ken Fitzgerald
02-20-2006, 9:53 AM