PDA

View Full Version : Lion Miter Trimmer

Peter Lyon
02-15-2006, 11:11 PM
Everyday on my way to get a coffee at work, I stop and peruse the employee bulletin board. I've been doing this for approximately 16 years and have yet to find anything of note -- well, that is until today. Buried under umpteen posters for local theatrical productions, real estate flyers and requests for sponsorship for the various 10Ks and walk-a-thons, I noticed a 3" by 5" card with the words "Lion Miter Trimmer for sale - $50" scribbled on it.

I called the number listed and discovered that it belongs to an amature photographer who bought this new sometime back to make his own picture frames with. He said he remembers using it for 3 cuts. Subsequenty, he has purchased a compound miter saw and no longer feels that he has any need for the trimmer. It has been stored away ever since.

A little research confirmed what I suspected, that the trimmer is meant to augment the power miter saw, but, if he's happy with the results that the power tool provides him, who am I to argue?:rolleyes:

Now to get to the point of this post, barring any obvious defects (which the seller (a co-worker) has assured me that there aren't any), I've verbally agreed to purchase said tool tomorrow.

Does anyone here have any experience with this tool? My recollection is that its considered sort of the "standard" for this type of thing, but maybe I'm confused?:confused: I confess to not having an immediate need but can't help but feel that this is one of those opportunities that comes along that should be taken advantage of.

What does the collective wisdom of the experts here think?

Andy Hoyt
02-15-2006, 11:20 PM
Peter - The Lion Miter Trimmer is made by the Pootatuck Corp and they've been making this thing virtually unchanged for over a hundred years. It is indeed the standard by which all others are deemed inferior.

If you do a lot of miters with exacting tolerances, you'll want this thing.