PDA

View Full Version : Which plane to buy?

jonathan snyder
02-13-2006, 12:00 AM
Hi folks,

I am new to this forum but have been reading for acouple of weeks. I am also fairly new to woodworking. I am beginning to realize the benefits and pleasures of using hand tools.

I would like to get a no 4 or 4 1/2 smoothing plane, but am unsure what to buy. Everyone says you get what you pay for when buying planes. I can not afford the top of the line planes, so I am considering a old one. I was looking at the old tool sites listed on a previous post. Anyone have any suggestions? Should I buy a cheaper new plane of an old one. What should I look for in an old plane, and what should I stay away from. My local antique shop has a couple of Stanley Handyman series. Any Thoughts?
Thanks for the input.

Jonathan

Mike Henderson
02-13-2006, 1:07 AM
The Stanley #4 planes are fairly low cost on EBay but the 4 1/2 are expensive. You didn't say what you were going to use it for but I would recommend buying the #4 to start. My basic advice on old Stanley planes is to buy one with the keyhole on the lever cap instead of the kidney hole. That will insure that you get one of the older ones which tend to be reasonably good. Stay away from the handyman planes and the Stanley Defiance planes. The Bedrock planes are very good but are very expensive. Get the Stanley Bailey planes to get started - they're excellent planes and you can learn a lot while using them.

If you're just starting out, don't buy a bunch of hand tools. Normally, when you're just starting out, you will be working on "simpler" projects that don't require a lot of tools. You can do an awful lot with a very limited set of hand tools. Buy the minimum, build a few things, and then adjust (see if you need additional tools, different tools, or different quality tools).