PDA

View Full Version : TS arbor nut suddenly over-tightening in use

roger wiegand
06-11-2024, 10:43 AM
I'm experiencing a new problem on my PM66 table saw that I've been using for the last 40 years. The last two times I've changed blades I've discovered that the arbor nut has tightened itself during use almost impossibly tight. The last time I took the blade off I needed to hold the blade with a C-clamp wedged against the table and a breaker bar on the arbor nut. Nothing like this has ever been required on several thousand previous blade changes. Threads all look good and clean, the nut threads on easily. I did notice some abrasion on the surface between the nut and washer so I flattened both surfaces on a stone. That didn't help the problem, after very brief use it was again similarly tight. I'm not happy of clamping the blade like that as I worry about warping it. (unfortunately there are no accessible flats on the other side of the arbor to hold it with a second wrench)

My usual practice is to thread the nut on snug and then tighten the nut with the wrench while hand-holding the blade. So not very tight. As the blade spins it tends to tighten up, but never so much that I've had any problem loosening it by just holding a block of wood against the saw teeth and using the wrench.

Any ideas what might have happened? Or suggestions for a solution? A plastic shim would probably let me get it off easier but at the cost of possible run out. I'm leery of adding a lubricant (teflon or graphite?) for fear that it might not hold as well, but will try that if others have had good experience.

521115 521116

Doug Garson
06-11-2024, 12:23 PM
Is the blade dull or dirty and thus causing more resistance to cut thru the wood and then causing the nut to overtighten?

Richard Verwoest
06-11-2024, 12:26 PM