PDA

View Full Version : Laguna Bandsaw Fence

Steven Humphrey
06-05-2024, 3:30 PM
Good day.

I am an amateur work worker and own a Laguna 14BX bandsaw. Up until now I have not done a lot of fine work with it, but and now experimenting with laminates. Consequently, blade alignment and drift are suddenly huge factors. I have adjusted the table top to be perpendicular with the resaw blade, and have corrected the fence for drift. However, I'm still having issues. I come to find that the fence itself (the one that came with the saw) is a) not flat and b) not perpendicular to the table top.

What advice would you give in this situation.
1) Is the fence correctable?
2) Get a better fence (Laguna has more expensive ones)?
3) Make a fence?

Thanks.

Jimmy Harris
06-05-2024, 3:43 PM
If you're sure the table is perpendicular to the blade, then you might need to adjust the fence to that it's parallel to the blade. How you do this is by adjusting the rails that the fence attaches to, not the fence itself.

Also, if you haven't already, look up Alex Snodgrass' video on band saw tune ups. He's got a video out there that shows you some good ways to set up your bandsaw so that it tracks straighter. If you set it up right, you shouldn't have any drift nor need to compensate for drift with the fence.

Robert Hazelwood
06-05-2024, 3:55 PM
I have the same saw. You can adjust the tilt of the fence extrusion with a small set screw on the backside of the casting that the extrusion attaches to. It's between the two knobs you use to release the extrusion from the main fence casting.