PDA

View Full Version : Help! My tabletop cupped!

Jeremy Kargas
02-08-2006, 1:39 PM
Okay, I've got a problem. I'm building a buffet and when I went to put the solid wood tabletop on, I found that it had cupped a little less than 1/8". When I glued it up, it was perfectly flat. I alternated the grain patterns and kept the widths of the boards from 3"-5" or so. The piece is 66" x 19", so it will not fit through my planer. I need to know what I can do to fix this situation. I just got back from the local cabinet shop and tried running it through their drum sander, but all that did was push the board flat as it was going through and when it came out the other side, it popped right back to where it was. The top will be attached with the 3/8" offset tabletop fasteners. I was thinking of possibly cutting some relief grooves in the bottom so that when I attach it, it will pull the piece flat, but I figured I would come to you guys first to see what you have done. I'm new to this hobby so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

tod evans
02-08-2006, 1:53 PM
attach a cross grain batten using slots in the batton to permit movement.....02 tod

John Lucas
02-08-2006, 2:16 PM
I am not one to use force against nature's force. You lose too often. I would mount it as you werre planning to allowing it to move with seasonal changes. The 1/8" cupping doesnt sound that bad. I would use belt sander or hand planes to level it out and then resand to finish.

John Miliunas
02-08-2006, 2:28 PM
Jeremy, Todd Burch, woodworker extroadanaire, did a short tutorial on exactly what you're encountering. Check this out: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=5559

Hope that's of some help...:) :cool:

BTW, welcome to the Creek!!! Hope to "see" you around real often! :D

Jim Becker
02-08-2006, 2:31 PM