PDA

View Full Version : Pre-cat replacement

Joe Chritz
02-07-2006, 8:03 PM
I am looking for a replacement for Pre-cat laqcuer for general finish use. I do a few cabinets, furniture and the like. I have been very happy with the pre-cat, mostly in the fast dry and recoat times.

I would be interested in anyone's opinion on the different products available and something that is as forgiving in application.

I am by no means a pro finisher and just get by with my HVLP setup. It produces quality finishes with the pre-cat but the solvent base scares me a little.

Anything Sherwin-williams may have as they have a local store. I have used their pre-cat and it is a good product best as I can tell.

Almost forgot, this is strictly for spray application. Anything I do by hand has waterlox but that happens less and less.

Thanks in advance

Joe

Steve Clardy
02-07-2006, 9:21 PM
I'll probably never stray from pre-cat lacquer.
About the only other finish I use to spray is a waterbase minwax poly, for bath vanities, in house spraying on staircases, and also the facing on counter tops around the kitchen sink.
Everything else is lacquer.

Alan Mikkelsen
02-08-2006, 10:56 AM
Go to TargetCoatings.com and look at their products. Their Ultima Spray Lacquer is a water base coating that actually burns in between coats. Their pre cat CV is great to spray. I'm up to about two gallons of it, so far in the past month. Easy to work with. They have a great web site and finish forum where you get the company presidents attention.

tod evans
02-08-2006, 1:57 PM
joe, i do not like the precatalyzed lacquers like sherwins cab-acrylic. i strictly use nitrocellouse. i find it cheaper and more forgiving.....02 tod

Joe Chritz
02-08-2006, 4:19 PM
I think I will check out target coatings. I have heard good stuff about them.