PDA

View Full Version : Jointer help please.

Nick Clayton
02-07-2006, 8:53 AM
Hi all,

This is my first post here as I only found the site a couple weeks ago. I am a new woodworker hobbiest (about 4 hours a week if I'm lucky). I've been picking up tools here and there and most recently purchased a very well maintained Delta 37-190 6" jointer from a very nice older gentleman. The jointer is 10 years old, but it looks brand new.

So my question to all of you is whether there is a good source online for learning proper jointing technique. I went through all my knives with a dial indicator and read three articles, as well as the owners manual, on setting knives so I believe I'm set up properly. However I'm obsesive compulsive and want to joint boards properly. On top of that I've never been good at the trial and error thing, I find it frustrating when I know there are so many knowledgable people to learn from.

Also, if there is anyone just West of Boston that would be comfortable with showing a budding woodworker the ropes of jointing I would be greatful.

Thank you for your answers in advance. You have a great website and I look forward to tapping into your collective knowledge for years.

Ken Fitzgerald
02-07-2006, 8:57 AM
Nick......first...........Welcome to the Creek! From beginner to pro they're all here willing to exchange information or lend an opinion! You might check the sticky "mentor list". There are a number of people who have volunteered to show we beginners the ropes! Again........Welcome!

tod evans
02-07-2006, 9:01 AM
nick, welcome! i`m a long way from you and don`t use a jointer so i`ll be of little help. sorry....02 tod

Anthony Anderson
02-07-2006, 10:02 AM
Nick, Welcome to SMC. As far as jointing goes it is pretty straight forward.
First, start with good, sharp knives. If yours are shot, the other day I saw that Amazon has a replacement set for ~$17, these are Freud. That is a pretty good price.