PDA

View Full Version : Veneer saws

chuck van dyck
03-29-2024, 12:29 PM
Hi all. I’ve been dabbling in hammer veneering and really enjoying the process. While a sharp blade tends to work fine when slicing veneers, I do enjoy keeping it somewhat traditional.

So for those of you with experience, what makes a good veneer saw? I’ll likely make one. Tools from working wood is quite close to my shop and I’ve had the opportunity to play with the gramercy one, but I won’t be spending $100+. LV has an affordable option, but I have zero experience with that offset handle type.

Attached are a couple pics, one of a recent desk I finished with red wood burl sliding doors. The other is of the veneer hammer I cobbled together.

Thanks for lookin!

Rafael Herrera
03-29-2024, 1:03 PM
My father had a tool for cutting veneer. It kind of looked like this, but instead of pointy teeth, it had wide teeth. It was a curved cutting edge, with notches about every 1/8". It was in practice a cutting tool made up of small slicing edges.

It wasn't a saw per se, a saw would be too coarse for this kind of work.

chuck van dyck
03-29-2024, 1:15 PM
Yeah thats what Ive been reading. Move of a serrated knife. I have decent files so have been considering grinding an old saw down and recutting the teeth. There is a surplus of old yard sale saws around the shop.

Eric Brown
03-29-2024, 1:22 PM
Yeah thats what Ive been reading. Move of a serrated knife. I have decent files so have been considering grinding an old saw down and recutting the teeth. There is a surplus of old yard sale saws around the shop.

Sharpened with one side flat to follow a straightedge.

Might also consider this: http://inlayrazor.com/

Jimmy Harris
03-29-2024, 4:06 PM