PDA

View Full Version : Putting my toe in the water...

Kevin Herber
02-06-2006, 9:28 PM
Recently I was reviewing my motivations with WW. I decided that I want to concentrate heavily on fine joinery of the Neanderthal type. I have a pretty full setup of power tools but I have almost no hand tools.

I'm thinking my first quality hand tool purchase will be a saw and chisels for dovetailing. The question is, what kind of saw and chisels?

I've read about Japanese pull saws and also back saws. I need advice and opinions on using one style or the other. Please recommend brands too.

Going hand in hand (pun intended) with the saw will be chisels. I would appreciate information on those as well.

I'm willing to spend a bit to get top quality as I've learned "you get what you pay for." As I am a complete newby in this area, if I've left out any pertinent considerations I would appreciate everyone's insight.

Thanks! -- Kevin

Tim Leo
02-06-2006, 9:44 PM
You left out the third leg of the hand tool trifecta...saws, chisels, and hand planes.

Be careful...it is a very slippery slope.

Mike Henderson
02-06-2006, 10:20 PM
I'm going to offer an opinion that may be different than what you're looking for.

Rather than go full bore into hand tool work, add hand tool techniques slowly to your woodworking. For example, make a chest or bookcase and cut the dados and rabbets by hand, but use power tools for the rest of the project. Ask some woodworkers in your area for advice or take a class on the subject.

If you're happy with the work and it meets your quality standards, add dovetails to your next project.