PDA

View Full Version : XP home addition

Bart Leetch
07-25-2003, 4:25 PM
What is required to install this OS in 2 home computers. Do I need special permission from Microsoft or will I need to pay more?

Bobby Hatfield
07-25-2003, 5:01 PM
What is required to install this OS in 2 home computers. Do I need special permission from Microsoft or will I need to pay more?

Bart I hope I don't have to buy another copy, am planning on buying another used computer and using same OS on it too. No more than I know about computers I just hope I can install it.

Kevin Gerstenecker
07-25-2003, 5:02 PM
XP Home Edition is available on CD ROM, and that is all you need to install it. If you purchase the software, you can install in on your home machine. As far as the law goes, I'm no lawyer, but I know LOTS of people who have shared sofware for many operating systems..........from Windows 3.1 to current systems. To be legal, you should probably be the original purchaser of the software.............but if you have the serial number assigned to the disk, you can load the program on any computer, any number of times. Now we all know your not SUPPOSED to do this, but a LOT of people do. No, that doesn't make it right, or legal, but it's just the way it is. Not that I have ever done this, which I haven't........Really, I haven't, never had the need to, but I know it has been done, MANY times. Not sure if this answers your question Bart, but I thought I would throw this in anyway............... :)

Jackie Outten
07-25-2003, 5:10 PM

Bart,

I don't use Windows XP but it is my understanding that it can only be used on one computer. You have to have an activation code for the software to work on your computer. This is also supposed to prevent software piracy. I think if you want to put XP on another computer you will have to purchase another copy.

Jackie Outten

RJ Schuff
07-25-2003, 5:22 PM