PDA

View Full Version : The education of an elitist power tool user......

Ken Fitzgerald
02-10-2024, 7:31 PM
I am an rank amateur learning to woodwork. Watching Norm, I became an avid power tool user and when I built my standalone shop, I designed it with power tools in mind! :)

A couple of years ago, I ran into some special woodworking events where I began to think that maybe there are times when woodworking hand tools could be of significant importance in my shop. I began to buy some better, though not the best I am sure, hand tools that were within my justifiable price range. I bought a Veritas 1" special chisel. I soon found out that those type of metals can be difficult to sharpen. Then I delved into the glass stones for sharpening the Veritas chisel and the 3 new Wood River Planes I purchased. I have used those glass stones on the Wood River bench chisels set I purchased the same day as the planes. Wood Craft Spokane got some money from me that day. In short, with the purchase of some Shapton stones, some reasonable quality hand tools, I began to see some improvement in the woodworking processes in my shop.

A few weeks back, I began making some octagon legs for a table I am building. When I put a 5" tapered foot on legs, using two sharp planes and two chisels I was able shave the area at the top into a nice arc below a 3" turned area. The turned area looks good except for 1 leg where I experienced a catch with my skew. That resulted in a turned area that is slightly different but I doubt seriously if anyone will notice. I know my customer, my wife, won't notice unless I point it out and won't care anyway.