PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw alinged on square Cuts - Gets out of alingnment on Bevel

tim walker
02-04-2006, 7:13 PM
I had my table set square to .005" and was thrilled. Then tilted it for a 45 bevel cut and it got so out of alginment that it is pathetic. 0.010"

Anyoime have any idea what would cause this? It is a Powermatic 64 left tilt contractors saw.

Thanks all

Barry O'Mahony
02-04-2006, 7:33 PM
I'm not an expert here, but I understand that this is not unusual for contractor-type saws.

Dan Henry
02-04-2006, 10:25 PM
Your saw arbor is not in line with the table top horizontally, for a contractor saw, you will to install shims between the trunnion and the top. For a cabinet saw you put shims between the cabinet and the top. experiment with washers of different thickness and sees if the alignment gets better or worse.

I had the same problem, blade at 45 it was so tight that I had sever burning and almost to the point I could not push a piece through the blade.

I put washers between the cabinet and top on the front of the saw

Dan

Jim VanBramer
02-05-2006, 12:55 AM
Been there! :( Tried to fix it! :eek: Sold it and bought a cabinet saw!!! :D :D :D

Ronnie Ferrell
02-05-2006, 1:16 AM
I had my table set square to .005" and was thrilled. Then tilted it for a 45 bevel cut and it got so out of alginment that it is pathetic. 0.010"

Anyoime have any idea what would cause this? It is a Powermatic 64 left tilt contractors saw.

Thanks all
Shims are the answer. You can cut them out of anything. I've even used coke cans for shim material.

Be ready for a LOT of trial and error. Also a lot of time. You have to install shims, reset the alignment at 90, and then check 45. If it is still off, you have to add more shims and do the whole setup again.