PDA

View Full Version : How many sharp edge tools?

Cameron Wood
12-17-2023, 11:51 PM
How many hand tools in your shop that are sharp e.g. arm hair shaving or will be again at next sharpening?

I count 92, mostly Japanese but 14 western planes, shaves, draw knives, etc.

Not including utility knives, marking gauges, glue chisels, power tools. I don't have a lathe so none of those either. Another dozen or so in work truck.

Jimmy Harris
12-18-2023, 9:49 AM
I have no idea. But probably less than 50, even if you counted chisels. I try not to collect tools that I don't often use. But most of my tools have a sharp edge, seeing as I'm a primarily hand tool woodworker.

Tom M King
12-18-2023, 10:18 AM
I don't think I have as many as 92 pounds of them, if you don't count the plane bodies, but here are a couple of chisel toolboxes. These don't include the timber framing chisels or carving chisels that are in other toolboxes. HVAC scale.

Jim Koepke
12-18-2023, 12:05 PM
How many hand tools in your shop that are sharp e.g. arm hair shaving or will be again at next sharpening?

Counting my planes was given up at ~60. Since then many more have been acquired. Then there are the combination planes with as many as 50 blades each. A pretty good set of hollows and rounds and other molding planes.

It is likely that more planes have come into my shop and left with a new owner than many people have in their shop.

Then there are the chisels & gouges…

A couple of my hatchets & an axe might be sharp enough to shave arm hair.

jtk

Edward Weber
12-18-2023, 12:19 PM
More than I want to count

Cameron Wood
12-18-2023, 12:25 PM
Counting my planes was given up at ~60. Since then many more have been acquired. Then there are the combination planes with as many as 50 blades each. A pretty good set of hollows and rounds and other molding planes.

It is likely that more planes have come into my shop and left with a new owner than many people have in their shop.