PDA

View Full Version : As I visit various Pro-WW'ing shops.....

Dennis Peacock
02-02-2006, 10:51 AM
I keep admiring all the nice tools they have and all the open floor space for material handling, assembly, and finishing. Nice high-end machine for milling the wood to whatever they need.

BUT......

I've noticed one thing....and this one thing they ALL have in common:

Not a one of them have a jointer....not a single one.

So....I'm curious......how does one get a nice clean straight edge for panel glueups without a jointer?

I'm asking as I have been using a jointer since the 1970's......and this has me seriously puzzled.:confused:

tod evans
02-02-2006, 11:08 AM
dennis, i get a glue joint quality edge off the tablesaw. i know of several shops that go right from a straight line or gang rip also. then i know of a few who run panel stock through an s4s moulders prior to gluing. but the last joiner i saw in a production enviorment was used to rabbit for glass stop in a sash shop. i don`t recall ever seeing one used in panel production....02 tod

Steve Clardy
02-02-2006, 11:10 AM
Most buy their lumber SSLP
Surfaced, Straight line ripped.

Anthony Anderson
02-02-2006, 11:10 AM
Dennis, just curious, did you ask the woodworkers whose shop you visited? If so, what did they tell you? I can only think of one way get by without a jointer. If a person buys the wood faced on one side, then they can take a router, using a straight-edge guide, and a guided bearing straight/spiral bit, and get an edge square to the face. Regards, Bill

Andy London
02-02-2006, 11:36 AM
I almost never use the jointer for the edges (less than 2%), even when building cabinets full time. The quality of cut right off the cabinet saw has always been as good and more often than not better than a jointer.

Now I do use the jointer however it is for face work as all my stock is rough.

David Fried
02-02-2006, 11:40 AM
Dennis,