PDA

View Full Version : Viasat Question

Dave Fritz
08-31-2023, 3:47 PM
I think I've finally figured out my issue with my ViaSat modem/router. The modem is failing intermittently. Using the diagnostics on their app. I find when I'm having issues and run the diagnostics it says I have a problem with my modem. When things are going well it tests out just fine. The trouble is when I call tech support and they run diagnostics it works just fine of course. A tech of theirs was here and said they have newer faster modem/routers now so I'm going to see if they will let me rent a new one instead of this one. If they won't I'm afraid I'm going to have to purchase my own. I have zero knowledge about modem/routers and wondering if anyone has purchased their own and if so what would you recommend? I know it has to be satellite compatible and that's about it. Thanks for your help.

Jim Becker
09-01-2023, 9:46 AM
You may have very limited places that you could buy that device given it's a sat service which is very different than the stuff used by "cable" type Internet services that have modems. It's somewhat of a captive market.

Dave Fritz
09-02-2023, 9:04 AM
Thank you Jim. I was afraid of that.

Rich Engelhardt
09-02-2023, 10:39 AM
https://www.reddit.com/r/Viasat/comments/k9javp/customer_forums/

https://forum.viasat.com/

Just a couple of forums like this one where you might find some answers. I found the Roadrunner forums to have a whole lot better answers than Roadrunner support was back before Spectrum took them over.

I had to buy my own cable modem at one point and it was pretty straight foreword. I just asked on the forum what the best and easiest thing was to get. most people said "Toshiba" (can't remember the model)- so - that's what I got. I had to contact RR and have them do something on their end to add it to their network, but, that only took a few minutes.