PDA

View Full Version : Can you retension a saw blade?

Dennis McDonaugh
02-01-2006, 10:06 AM
I bought a pretty nice Disston nr. 12 panel saw off of e-bay the other day. The blade was dark, but not rusty or pitted and the handle was pretty pristine. However, the blade was wavy and not nearly as rigid as most handsaw blades I've seen. I think it had lost its tension due to misuse. I contacted the seller and he took it back, but I'm wondering if retensioning a blade is something you can attempt at home.

Bruce Shiverdecker
02-01-2006, 6:13 PM
Sorry to seem a little dense, but do you mean the "Temper"? The only types of blades that I'm aware of that require "Tensioning" are Bandsaw, copingsaw, Scrollsaw, and others like them, NOT handsaws. Keep in mind, I'm NO expert here.

Bruce

Tim Leo
02-01-2006, 7:47 PM
I bought a pretty nice Disston nr. 12 panel saw off of e-bay the other day. The blade was dark, but not rusty or pitted and the handle was pretty pristine. However, the blade was wavy and not nearly as rigid as most handsaw blades I've seen. I think it had lost its tension due to misuse. I contacted the seller and he took it back, but I'm wondering if retensioning a blade is something you can attempt at home.

I picked up a saw the other day on the bay, and when I got it I found the blade to be kinda 'floppy', i.e. it had no stiffness or tension to the blade.

Maybe some of the others with blacksmithing skills can help?

Dennis McDonaugh
02-01-2006, 9:26 PM
Sorry to seem a little dense, but do you mean the "Temper"? The only types of blades that I'm aware of that require "Tensioning" are Bandsaw, copingsaw, Scrollsaw, and others like them, NOT handsaws. Keep in mind, I'm NO expert here.

Bruce