PDA

View Full Version : Bought 5 router plane irons and got a free plane

Jason Buresh
07-25-2023, 9:00 AM
I was working on a recent project and while fumbling with my router plane iron in my 71-1/2, the iron fell out of tool, bounced off the bench and landed on the concrete floor

New replacement irons are about $18-19 from Lee valley which is reasonable, but yesterday while browsing market place I saw a deal I couldn't pass up.

For $80, I got 5 blades, plus the plane, butt markers, 2 fences, some 78 parts, and some neat little leaflets.

I'm happy, now back to work

George Yetka
07-25-2023, 9:03 AM
Whats a Butt marker? Good deal to make up for that awful feeling

Marc Fenneuff
07-25-2023, 9:03 AM
What a great haul! I'm still looking for a fence and extra irons for my No. 67. Might try LV for the latter.

Jason Buresh
07-25-2023, 9:06 AM
Whats a Butt marker? Good deal to make up for that awful feeling

I'm not an expert but I believe they are used to make a template on a door for installing butt hinges. It came with a little book I need to read on how to use them, but I didn't get time last night

George Yetka
07-25-2023, 9:24 AM
I'm not an expert but I believe they are used to make a template on a door for installing butt hinges. It came with a little book I need to read on how to use them, but I didn't get time last night

Interesting, I thought originally why not trace with a marking knife but this is pretty clever
https://blaknissan.wordpress.com/2018/06/29/a-guide-to-using-the-butt-marker/

Jim Koepke
07-25-2023, 10:42 AM
Nice score Jason, looks like you have a depth stop and fence that escaped from a Stanley #78 and an extra fence for the router plane. What I don't see is the mounting screws for the router plane fences.

Interesting, I thought originally why not trace with a marking knife but this is pretty clever
https://blaknissan.wordpress.com/2018/06/29/a-guide-to-using-the-butt-marker/