PDA

View Full Version : Origin Stories

kenneth hatch
04-29-2023, 7:07 PM
My woodworking started in the early/mid '70. I acquired my first house in Houston, TX and started to sign over my paycheck to another kinda new company, Home Depot. At the time HD carried a good supply of power tools including Delta. While there, lusting over a Delta floor model drill press (which I still have) I saw a new magazine "Fine Woodworking", between that and the "Garrett Wade" catalog I was in lust city. I still have most of the tools from Garrett Wade including a couple of Record planes and Freud chisels.

Tools from Garrett Wade:

At the time I also lusted after a workbench but I was a charter pilot, in a time of too many pilots (unlike today) and there was no money to buy a bench even if I could have found one to buy. The only answer was to build one. A slight digression I don't know how many of you have seen Russian airplanes up close and personal but, all I can say is they are a hoot. The Russians have their copy of a 727, Falcon 50, and so on all made to operate from Russian Airports. Russian runways are made of concrete slabs floating on permafrost. they can and will take the landing gear off the aircraft in a heartbeat except most Russian aircraft have what look like tractor tires on their landing gear. Then the other thing is the designer got a good look at a Falcon 50 before he started drawing up his version but the vodka bottle got in the way before he finished. If you squint you can kinda see the Falcon 50 bones, kinda.

Sorry for the digression but it does deal with my first bench. I had never seen a real woodworking workbench only a few photos in "Fine Woodworking" and the "Garrett Wade" catalog. With those photos in mind I gathered up some SYP from HD and a couple of Pyramid metal vises and went to work.