PDA

View Full Version : Finally got good results with a Woodpecker Festool Parallel Guide

Michael Rutman
04-17-2023, 1:30 PM
Note: I am a hobbyist who replaces skill with good tools. If you are a good woodworker then you probably can eyeball the track and be perfect, that's not me. I can mess up a tape measure and have, often.

A while back I reviewed my problems with the Woodpecker attachments for the Festool track saw and gave it a mostly negative review. I just cut some cabinet parts and I got pretty good results. Not perfect, but that's on me. Had I spent a bit more time on setup I think I could get it as good as having a sliding table saw. Thought I'd follow up with how I got good results. Hopefully, this will help someone who bought them and threw them on a shelf because they couldn't get good results.

In my case I'm cutting 34 1/2" parts from my 4x8 plywood. That's the one cut I can't safely do on my Sawstop.

So, to review the problems. The ability to adjust the left and right guide based on their calibration and your eyeball is never going to work well. There's just too many compounding errors to get it within 1/32 of an inch over a 4 foot length. Getting things aligned to the point that you don't need to recut has a lot of people saying impossible, don't even try.

So, how to get it to work.

1) Change how you break down plywood.
Normally, people use some software package to optimize cuts. This won't work well as you want to do as many cuts of the same size in a row as possible. If you are making one or two cabinets, this means you will waste some plywood. My solution is knowing I'm going to make more in the future, so I cut the 34 1/2" ends off several sheets. What I don't use today I'll use next time. The inner strip (26ish x 48) at will get used to make the rest of the parts, and I always need stretchers, so I shouldn't have too much wasted plywood.

2) Get a really really good square 34 1/2 by 4 inch piece of plywood.