PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade options for a 6" jointer?

Geoff Crimmins
04-17-2023, 11:56 AM
I have a Powermatic 50 6" jointer which I really like, but keep finding boards that I need to joint that are between 6" and 8" wide. I'm considering the upgrade options but think I'm overanalyzing things and can't decide which route makes the most sense. I'm a hobby woodworker with my shop squeezed into part of a one-car garage. I tend not to joint long boards so that's not really a concern. Options I've considered are:

1. Keep the PM50 and joint wider boards with the porkchop guard removed, and then plane it on a backer board.
2. Look for a used PM60 or similar 8" jointer. The beds are bit long for my space, but I think I could make it fit.
3. Look for used Inca 570 10-1/4" jointer planer. The beds are about 6" shorter than on my 6" jointer. I would keep my 15" planer and use this mostly as a jointer.
4. Look for a used 12" Minimax or Hammer jointer-planer to replace my jointer and planer. It would likely be hard to find one of these in my area, and would likely be the most expensive option.

Any thoughts on which option might make the most sense?

Scott Bernstein
04-17-2023, 12:34 PM