PDA

View Full Version : How to deal with only partial glue squeeze out?

Eric Schubert
04-16-2023, 2:16 PM
I'm working up some large panels for a desk top. It's my first attempt at really making something this large. The panels are 30 x 48 inches (three glue joints) and 30 x 84 inches (two glue joints). I've glued my panels with what I thought was more than sufficient glue and, after removing the clamps today, I noticed that the bottom of the glue-up (where I couldn't see, of course...) didn't have nice squeeze out of glue along the full length, leaving some sections with what appear to be gaps.

I could just work a bit of glue into the gaps before I sand and finish the panels, but I figured I should ask to avoid issues. Most of the joint length seems okay in terms of glue reaching the full width of contact. Is there a better way to deal with this lack of full joint contact/glue, aside from cutting the joints and redoing them?

Lee Schierer
04-16-2023, 3:47 PM
If you spread the glue evenly on one surface you should get pretty even squeeze out along the length of the joint. However, areas of rough or open grain could soak up more glue than other areas. You don't need glue dripping out of the joint, just little beads of glue along the joint line. If you want more absolute glue coverage, apply glue to to both sides of the joint before assembly. Just about the worst method is to apply a bead of glue along the joint and then put the joint together without any spreading before hand.

Andrew Hughes
04-16-2023, 3:51 PM
Too me a gap on the underside means your boards were not square to the faces or if it just the middle then a spring joint that was too big.
Adding pva glue to the gap isn’t going to do anything. It’s up to you if it’s not acceptable. Wait a couple days and see if you have any thick glue lines on the top side. That might be the reason to make the joint over.
Good Luck

Ron Citerone
04-16-2023, 4:42 PM