PDA

View Full Version : Confession of a Reluctant Lurker

ROBERT ELLIS
01-29-2006, 9:09 PM
I was curious as to why folks take so long in becoming a member to the Creek? For me, I've been checking out this site for a few months without registering as a member. I had no problem joining up at a couple of other web sites (both produce national magazines) but when it came to joining in at the "creek", for some reason I couldn't bring myself too. I came to the conclusion that you folks are just to darn friendly and personal, why you go as far as asking your members to use their real name.

Seriously though, I found myself visiting this site more than the other two over the last few months, and even lately I've pretty much quit the others and drop in here almost exclusively. So - have you got room for one more?

A note about myself...I'm a full time woodworker, making pretty much a small line of mostly cherry (Shaker style) furniture. Been at it on and off since 97' and nearly all I make gets sold wholesale to furniture stores in Kentucky. I have some nice pictures of my work, but probably can't post them here because of thier size (pixels?).

To my original question, why did some of you wait so long before becoming a member?

Robert

Ken Fitzgerald
01-29-2006, 9:19 PM
Robert......Welcome to the Creek! Wade right in the water's fine! A neat civil place where beginners and pros exchange information. Again .....Welcome!

Steve Ash
01-29-2006, 9:21 PM
Welcome Robert....I have no idea why anyone would wait so long to meet all the wonderful, knowledgeable and helpful people here at the "Creek" Glad you found us though.

Bob Noles
01-29-2006, 9:27 PM
Robert,

Glad to have you join the fun and games. The creek is one of the nicest place on the internet for woodworkers to hang out and discuss our interests. I don't know why anyone would hesitate jumping right in and joining the fun.... I sure didn't :D

Hope to see you around frequently.

Jim Dunn
01-29-2006, 9:34 PM