PDA

View Full Version : Unisaw bullet motor starting problem

Zachary Hoyt
02-13-2023, 10:00 PM
I have a late 40s (I think it's 1948 if I remember right) Unisaw with a 1 HP bullet motor. I bought it from a school auction last spring and set it up for 120v and it has run fine and been in regular use since then. Tonight I cranked the blade tilt to about 35 or 40 degrees, and when I tried to turn it on the motor didn't sound like it came up to speed all the way, and had no power. I tried tilting it back to 90 degrees and had the same symptoms.

I'm wondering if I should be trying to fix this myself, or take it to a repair shop, or buy a newer motor. I've been happy with the amount of power it has. I have some electrical knowledge but not that much. I was able to rewire the motor from 240 to 120 and I have changed bearings and capacitors in motors but that's about it. I found a motor shop 67 minutes away and another 91 minutes away that seem like they might be able to work on it, but I'll have to wait till tomorrow to call and ask them. I don't know if a newer Unisaw motor will fit in the cabinet. I've been doing some reading about how to repair these motors, but I am doubtful as to what is the problem with mine. I'll be very grateful for any advice.

Ron Selzer
02-14-2023, 12:55 AM
I would try a new starting capacitor first.
Check the start switch in motor next if capacitor didn't fix it.

Marc Fenneuff
02-14-2023, 1:10 AM
The bullet motor is a repulsion start, induction run motor. So no caps. You may have a broken shorting spring. I will suggest you ask the folks at owwm.org for troubleshooting steps.

Zachary Hoyt
02-14-2023, 8:15 AM