PDA

View Full Version : Rob Cosman Video on cutting perfect dovetails first attempt

Joel Gelman
02-12-2023, 1:16 PM
I posted about a topic where my reference to YouTube channels was to point out examples of people with very large plane collections, not to have a discussion of the merits of different woodworkers who use their YouTube channels as an income source. However, it did generate some interesting discussion related to the quality of the videos and accuracy of the information being presented.

Seems like a guy well liked on this forum is Rob Cosman. I am planning to learn to hand cut dovetails. I have been an average woodworker for decades, but I think I will consider myself above average then I learn to hand cut dovetails that look nicer than my Keller jig can offer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8SrH6HbDdQ&list=PLqUOljnY0d9e0pMDPQ4B-pDO36Ad_CysT&index=1&t=966s

Rob Cosman made a video in 2020 indicated that with 35 years of teaching experience, he has developed a method where if I follow along and use the recommended tools and techniques, I will be able to cut dovetails on my first attempt. That sounds good to me! LOL That video was followed with a 2022 update.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NUPtnPNpjnU&t=849s

Before I buy his saw and the other tools he recommended, I figure some of you may have thoughts on these particular videos. Thanks!

Edward Weber
02-12-2023, 2:23 PM
IMHO
No one and I mean no one, cuts perfect dovetails on their first attempt.

There are hundreds of videos on cutting dovetails, while Cosman is generally well respected, his is only one method of many.
Personally, when looking to learn a new skill, I prefer to gain as much knowledge from as many sources as I can.
Cosman has his method which is fine for him, although it might not be right for you.
Just something to think about before you invest too much into one instructors method.

steven c newman
02-12-2023, 2:36 PM