PDA

View Full Version : sketchup upgrade needed

jim mills
01-17-2023, 8:54 PM
Hey guys, I've been using (for free) SketchUp make 2015 for several years now, but I'm getting a new computer so time to install new software. I dont do any 3-D drawing so I dont need anything more powerful than what I 've got. Any Suggestions? TIA!

Aaron Rosenthal
01-17-2023, 9:16 PM
I think Sketchup 2017 is still a free download from the Trimble site.

Jim Becker
01-17-2023, 10:05 PM
The current free version of Sketchup is available at this link:

https://www.sketchup.com/plans-and-pricing/sketchup-free

Keep in mind that it runs in the browser, not locally. Local running now requires a subscription.

jim mills
01-18-2023, 10:14 AM
Thanks Jim. I've gotten a lot of use out of the free version. I guess it's time to pony up.

Jim Becker
01-18-2023, 10:46 AM
Jim, I was previously using the 2017 "Make" version but it got wonky after a number of MacOS updates. I also did the paid subscription last year as I needed/wanted to use the program for my new shop building project and the associated planning for it, but am debating whether or not to renew simply because I rarely use the application for my projects. CNC stuff gets done in the Vectric software I use and I sometimes even use that for non-CNC sketches when I need to play with exact dimensions. I will tell you that the current version of SketchUp is very good and works in a familiar way relative to the 2017 Make version, at least for me.

Thomas Crawford
01-18-2023, 11:14 AM