PDA

View Full Version : Big crack while creating a mortise

Luis Reyes
12-26-2022, 8:38 PM
I'm still new to creating a mortise and tenon but was trying to create a mortise in some red oak. I was halfway through the second mortise when a large crack appeared! I'm kind of bummed to having to start over (not that I was very far yet) but I'm curious what may have caused this?

I hadn't noticed any cracks before starting. I did take the wood from my basement (20ish degrees Celsius) to my garage which was probably around 0 degrees C. But this happened after about 10 minutes.

Hoping to learn what may have happened if it was bad luck or something I may have caught beforehand.

Thanks!

Luis

Mike Henderson
12-26-2022, 9:06 PM
I don't know what caused it, but I'd fix it by blowing glue into the crack with an air hose and then clamping it.

Mike

James Pallas
12-26-2022, 9:26 PM
Looks like you are cutting parallel to the grain. ?
Jim

Luis Reyes
12-26-2022, 9:36 PM
Looks like you are cutting parallel to the grain. ?
Jim

Yes I was, should I cut it perpendicular to the grain?

Could this also be avoided if I had drilled a hole or used a router to have less waste to clear?

Mike Henderson
12-26-2022, 10:17 PM
Yes I was, should I cut it perpendicular to the grain?

Could this also be avoided if I had drilled a hole or used a router to have less waste to clear?

Cutting perpendicular to the grain will minimize a split. I always drill out the majority of the waste and then trim with a chisel.

Mike

Tom M King
12-26-2022, 10:30 PM
Show a picture of the end grain, and we all may learn something.

Luis Reyes
12-26-2022, 11:00 PM
Here’s a shot of the end grain.

@mike. I’m trying to glue it up as you’ve suggested. I don’t have an air compressor but hopefully I got it in most of the crack. 492312

Christopher Herzog
12-26-2022, 11:04 PM
I would offer, when working close to the end you may want to clamp the board side to side and support the grain.