PDA

View Full Version : The throw-away society!

Mark Gibney
12-15-2022, 10:04 AM
My expensive Fasco pin nailer is kaput. The piston is bent, and needs to be replaced.
So I borrowed my neighbors Harbor Freight pin nailer.
I really liked this HF tool - it leaves a tiny hole. The Fasco nailer leaves a noticeably larger hole.

A replacement piston for the Fasco is $28 plus tax etc, a new HF nailer is $27.

I'm tempted to retire the Fasco and get a HF nailer. But I can hear my mother giving out about the throw-away society!

I normally like to get tools repaired (or do it myself) but I'm disappointed that this happened to the Fasco (I've no idea when or how) and I've always been disappointed the hole is so big in comparison to other pin nailers I've used.
What would you do?

Patrick Varley
12-15-2022, 10:18 AM
Well, that HF nailer is essentially a disposable too. And it likely has a shorter service life. Don't get me wrong, I have one and it works for me because I'm only a hobbyist.

I'd repair the Fasco, and if you really prefer the performance of another nailer, let the Fasco go to another home at a good price to pay for the purchase of something else.

Jim Becker
12-15-2022, 10:19 AM
If the HFT pinner will do what you want and can drive the length of pins you need for the work you do, I see very little downside. Their tools are reasonably good these days including the pneumatics. I wouldn't buy their fasteners, but for the same money as the replacement piston for your current tool, you immediately get a working unit that doesn't leave the larger hole you don't prefer. It could be the end solution or a stopgap as you consider other options, including other brands such as Grex.

Frederick Skelly
12-15-2022, 10:27 AM
I'd go buy the HF. I would keep the (unrepaired) FASCO for a while in case. You can always repair it a little later.

Dave Sabo
12-15-2022, 10:35 AM
What would you do?

better tool/performance for less money...................I think the choice is obvious.