PDA

View Full Version : No T slot? What options are there?

Carl Beckett
12-13-2022, 2:37 PM
I am just beginning to research this and looking for ideas/options: My bandsaw does not have a T slot, but I want to use a miter and feather boards that do require a T slot.

The most likely scenario is to come up with something that will hold the accessories down without needing the T slot. Probably doable (some featherboards have the piece expand as a screw is tighted into it - might be 'ok'

And replacing the table seems like a project in itself to find one compatible perfectly

I might be able to make an 'insert' - then put the slot in the insert - which means different sizes and quite a bit smaller functional location

For the featherboard, I might mount them on a piece of plywood and just clamp that in place instead of using the T slot

Other ideas?

Marc Fenneuff
12-13-2022, 2:40 PM
Magswitches were tailor-made for this application.

Dave Sabo
12-13-2022, 3:16 PM
Magnets my boy.........magnets.

Paul F Franklin
12-13-2022, 3:36 PM
Or make an aux table that sits on top of and attaches to the machine table and includes t-track where you want it.

Edward Weber
12-13-2022, 3:48 PM
Not all expanding slot feather-boards are created equal.
I use BOW products
https://bow-products.com/
They lock tight and don't move in my experience.

Jay Hart
12-13-2022, 5:11 PM
If your table is cast iron, I agree that a jig utilizing Magswitch magnets make sense. If not cast iron, then an aux table with a T slot seems next best.

Michael Burnside
12-13-2022, 6:28 PM
I have a miter slot and I usually use Magswitch jigs 90% of the time. Highly recommended.

Jim Becker
12-13-2022, 8:22 PM
Magnetics are the way to go, IMHO. And they are much more flexible for positioning than stuff tagged to a miter/tee-slot.

Edward Weber
12-14-2022, 2:05 PM
Nothing against magnets, but for those who've never used them before, there are many different types with different levels of holding power.